SM Town

S.M. Entertainment is an independent Korean record label, talent agency, producer, and publisher of pop music, founded by Lee Soo-man in South Korea. Initially, “SM” was an abbreviation of the agency founder’s name, but now stands for “Star Museum.” Once the home to groups such as H.O.T., S.E.S., and Shinhwa, its current roster of recording artists include artists in Korean entertainment like BoA, f(x), Girls’ Generation, The Grace, Kangta, SHINee, Super Junior, TRAX, TVXQ and Zhang Liyin. It is also home to actors like Go Ara, Kim Min-jong and Lee Yeon-hee. SM Entertainment also co-publishes Avex Trax releases for Japanese artists such as Ayumi Hamasaki, Namie Amuro, and Koda Kumi, as well as Johnny’s Entertainment acts like Arashi and KAT-TUN. Its current CEO is Kim Young-min.


After graduating from Seoul National University and pursuing his own career as a singer, Lee Soo Man surveyed teenage girls on what they wanted to see in music groups and started the boy band H.O.T. and girl group S.E.S.. Both groups became successful during the late 1990s. Soon thereafter, Lee created Shinhwa, and once again, the band attained the same popularity and success, continuing Lee’s streak of producing successful artists. In 1999, Lee created Korea’s first R&B duo, Fly to the Sky, with members Hwanhee and Brian, adding to Lee’s list of successful groups.

However, problems began appearing in SM Entertainment following the breakup of H.O.T. S.E.S. disbanded a year after H.O.T. and a few years later in 2003, SM Entertainment would see the departure of Shinhwa as well, though the group shifted toward a new management instead of breaking up and continued its success outside of SM Entertainment. In the following years, some of its newer ventures, such as Isak N Jiyeon and Black Beat, failed to attain the popularity achieved by earlier SM artists.

The agency later found new successes with many other acts. SM Entertainment debuted a solo singer BoA in 2000, a five-member boy group TVXQ in 2003, a four-member rock band TRAX in 2004, a four-member girl group The Grace and a thirteen-member boy group Super Junior in 2005, a solo singer of Chinese descent Zhang Liyin in 2006, a nine-member girl group Girls’ Generation in 2007, another five-member boy group Shinee in 2008, five-member girl group f(x) in 2009, four-member ballad project group S.M. the Ballad in 2010 and boy band EXO, which is divided into subgroups EXO-K and EXO-M for Korean and Chinese markets, respectively.


  • South Korea: 521, Apgujeong-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul
  • United States: 4322 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 300, Los Angeles, CA 90010

Recording artists

Debut Artists Gender Members Leader Disbanded Fanclub name Official color
1996 H.O.T. Male 5 Moon Hee-jun 2001 Club H.O.T White
1997 S.E.S. Female 3 Bada 2002 Friend Purple
1998 Shinhwa Male 6 Eric Mun left the company Shinhwa Changjo Orange
1999 Fly to the Sky Male 2 Non-Leader Group left the company Fly High Sky blue
2000 BoA Female Solo Jumping BoA Yellow
2001 Moon Hee Jun Male Solo left the company Club H.I.T White
2001 Kangta Male Solo Club K.I.T White
2001 Dana Female Solo joined The Grace
2001 M.I.L.K Female 4 Park Hee-bon 2004 Milkyway Light pink
2002 Black Beat Male 7 Lee So-min 2007 Soul Black Black
2002 Shinvi Female 3 Yoo Soo-jin 2004 Linos Teal
2002 Isak N Jiyeon Female 2 Non-Leader Group 2004 Wine Red
2003 TVXQ Male 5 ® 2 Yunho Cassiopeia Red
2004 TRAX Male 4 ® 2 Jay Traxian Cobalt blue/Maroon
2005 The Grace Female 4 Non-Leader Group Shapley Pink
2005 Super Junior Male 13 ® 12 Leeteuk E.L.F Sapphire blue
2006 Iconiq Female Solo
2006 Zhang Liyin Female Solo Chocolate Gold/Mint
2007 Girls’ Generation Female 9 TaeYeon S♥NE Pastel rose pink
2007 J-Min Female Solo
2008 SHINee Male 5 Onew SHINee World Pearlescent Aqua
2009 f(x) Female 5 Victoria Affection Periwinkle
2012 EXO Male 12


  • Kenzie
  • Song Kwang-sik
  • Yoo Young-jin


  • Lee Yeonhee
  • Kim Minjong
  • Go Ara
  • Park Heebon
  • Seo Hyunjin
  • Oh Yun Soo


  • Kim Isak

Former (Left the company)

  • Han Geng
  • Hero Jaejoong
  • Micky Yoochun
  • Xiah Junsu
  • Fly To The Sky
  • Kang Jung Woo
  • Jang Nara
  • Jang Woo Hyuk
  • Lee Jae Won
  • Moon Hee Jun
  • No Min-woo
  • Park Myung Soo
  • Shinhwa
  • Tony An

PHOTOs Gallery

Super Junior‘s Sungmin & SNSD’s Sunny

SNSD’s Yoona & Lee Yeon Hee

SNSD’s Jessica & Lee Yeon Hee


Source: Internet, wikipidea

One thought on “SM Town

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s